Instagram offers a smooth and safe option to stop seeing someone’s content in your feed by simply muting them. Interestingly, Instagram has different kinds of mute. You can mute someone’s stories, messages, notes, or posts. So what does each mute do on Instagram? Let’s find the answer to what happens when you mute someone on Instagram messages, stories, posts, or notes in this post.
Table of Contents
What Happens When You Mute Someone’s Posts on Instagram
When you mute someone’s post on Instagram, you will not see new posts (photos and videos) from them on your feed. They will not be unfollowed or blocked from your Instagram profile. Only their posts will remain hidden from your feed. For instance, if someone keeps oversharing their wedding pictures or shares problematic posts, muting their posts will come in handy.
At any time, if you want to see if they have stopped, just open their profile and you can view their posts, both new and old. The muted account can message and view your stories/posts. Similarly, you can view their stories and message them.
In a nutshell, the following things will happen by muting someone’s post on Instagram:
- Their posts disappear from your feed.
- You can still see the photos and videos on their profile page.
- Muting posts will not mute their stories, messages, or notes.
- They will not be notified when you mute them.
- The muted user can see your posts and stories.
Tip: Learn how to schedule Instagram posts.
What Happens When You Mute Someone on Instagram Story
Just like posts, when you mute someone’s story on Instagram, you won’t see any new stories from them at the top of your feed. Furthermore, stories from muted accounts will not play automatically after others.
Earlier, stories from a muted Instagram account would appear at the end of the stories list. However, that’s not the case now. If you want to check the stories of a muted account, just open their profile and tap on the profile picture.
The following things will happen by muting stories on Instagram:
- Their stories will not show up in your feed
- You can still check their stories by tapping on their profile photo.
- Muting stories don’t affect their posts, messages, or notes.
- No notification will be sent when you mute someone’s stories.
- The muted account can view your posts and stories.
Tip: Learn how to stop getting replies for your Instagram stories.
What Happens When You Mute Someone on Instagram Messages (DM)
Muting messages is different from muting posts or stories on Instagram. Picture it simply as silencing the message notifications instead of hiding them.
When you mute Instagram messages from someone, you will not be notified about any new message that they send you. Yes, even though the person can still send you new messages, it’s just that you will not receive a notification.
Moreover, nothing will happen to your old messages. The message thread will remain as it is. You will see the mute icon (bell with a slash in it) on the muted chats. Once you open the chat thread, you will see the new messages to which you can reply like any other message. The chat thread will not be unmuted if you open it.
The following things will happen after muting messages on Instagram:
- Message notifications will be silenced from the muted account.
- You both can still send and receive messages from each other.
- Call notifications will not be muted. You will have to separately mute call notifications.
- They won’t be notified if you mute them.
- Muting someone’s messages will not mute posts, stories, or notes.
- The mute icon will appear on the muted chats.
Tip: Learn how to disable messages on Instagram.
What Happens When You Mute Notes on Instagram
Instagram has a new feature inside the messages section known as notes. You have to mute notes separately. That is, muting messages, stories, or posts from someone will not mute their notes and vice versa.
When you mute notes from someone, their new notes will not appear at the top of the Instagram message screen. To see new notes from them, you will have to unmute them first. Moreover, the user will not be notified if you mute their notes.
How to Mute or Unmute Someone’s Posts, Stories, or Notes on Instagram
Follow these steps to mute or unmute someone’s posts, stories, or notes on Instagram:
1. Open the Instagram app on your Android or iPhone.
2. Go to the user’s profile that you want to mute.
3. Tap on the Following button.
4. Tap on Mute.
5. Enable the toggle next to Posts, Stories, or Notes, based on what you want to mute. Similarly, turn off the toggle next to the items that you want to unmute on Instagram.
How to Mute or Unmute Someone’s Messages on Instagram
To mute or unmute someone on Instagram messages, follow these steps:
1. Open the Instagram app on your phone.
2. Tap on the Messages icon at the top.
3. Tap on the chat that you want to mute or unmute.
4. Tap on the user’s name at the top.
5. Enable the toggle next to Mute messages or Mute calls. You will be asked how long you want to mute someone. Select the preferred duration. Use the same toggles to unmute messages.
Pro Tip: On Android, long-touch the chat thread and you can mute or unmute messages or calls from the selected account.
1. What’s the difference between mute and restrict?
Mute basically hides the content of the muted user from your profile and silences their message notifications. On the other hand, restricting a profile limits your interactions with them. For instance, their comments will be hidden and their messages will show up in the Message requests folder instead of the regular folder. Learn in detail what happens when you restrict someone on Instagram.
2. What’s the difference between mute and hide stories?
When you hide your stories from someone, then they will not be able to see your stories. You can still view their stories. But if you don’t want to see their stories as well, you have to mute their stories. Find out if someone has hidden their stories from you.
3. Can you tell if someone has muted you on Instagram?
No, there’s no direct way to find out if someone has muted you.