Home » Internet » How to Deactivate Your Instagram Account

How to Deactivate Your Instagram Account

by Parth
how to disable instagram account

Smartphone addiction is real these days. One of the reasons for the growing phone usage is social media apps. Apps like Instagram, Snapchat, TikTok, YouTube are the major forces behind our high screen-on-time number on phones. Sometimes, it can be overwhelming for users. If you need some time away from Instagram, you can temporarily disable your account. Here’s how to deactivate your Instagram account. 

You can always use the Screen Time function on iPhone and Android to apply some breaks to social media addiction on a small screen. But it’s not an effective solution. It’s too easy to bypass the set limit for the day on apps like Instagram and Snapchat. 

Deactivate Your Instagram Account

The ideal and permanent solution would be to deactivate your Instagram account. No more ads, no more constant feeding from other influencers’ lavish lives and you can have productive time on your hands to get things done.

Before we go ahead and show you have to deactivate your Instagram account, let’s talk about possible outcomes from your move. 

What Happens When You Deactivate Your Instagram Account

When you temporarily disable your account, your profile, photos, comments, and likes will be hidden until you reactive the account by logging back in. 

Also, the ability to disable your Instagram account is only available from the Instagram web app or mobile browser. You can’t do the same from the Instagram app on iPhone and Android. 

instagram likes

However, you can easily activate the disabled account by logging back in from the Instagram mobile apps. 

Now that you know what happens after you deactivate your Instagram account, let’s disable it from the Instagram web on the desktop. 

Deactivate Your Instagram Account

In the example below, we will use the Instagram web app on the desktop to deactivate the account. You can follow the same steps on your mobile browser and achieve the same outcome on a small screen. 

Without further ado, follow the steps below. 

1. Open Instagram web app in a browser on the desktop. 

2. Sign in using your Instagram account credentials. 

select instagram profile

3. From the Instagram home, click on your profile picture at the top and go to Settings

go to instagram settings

4. Select Edit Profile from the left sidebar. 

open edit profile

5. Click on Temporarily disable my account from the Edit Profile menu. It will take you to the Temporarily Disable Your Account page. 

disable instagram account

6. Select the reason for deactivating your Instagram account. 

reason for disabling instagram

If you select reasons like Privacy Concerns, Instagram will offer you different guides on how to make your account Private (we will discuss it later in the post), how to block someone on Instagram, and so on. You can browse them and change your mind if you want. 

7. To continue, re-enter your password and hit the Temporarily Disable Account at the bottom. 

disable instagram account

When you press that button, all your photos, comments, and likes will be hidden. As we mentioned above, you can simply log in again and reactivate the account once again. 

Keep in mind that you can only disable your Instagram account once a week. 

Make Your Instagram Account Private

If your aim is to keep your Instagram hidden from strangers, you can always use the Private function and make your account secure from stalkers. 

The good news is, you can easily make your Instagram account private using mobile apps. Follow the steps below. 

1. Open Instagram on your phone. 

2. Go to your account and tap on the hamburger menu at the top. 

3. Select Settings

go to instagram settings

4. Enable Private account from the Account privacy menu. 

make instagram account private

That’s it. From now on, strangers won’t be able to peek into your account. 

Delete Your Instagram Account

Be careful while using this method. It will permanently delete your Instagram account with all the posts, photos, likes, and comments. You can re-create the Instagram account with the same username but your follower count will be gone, along with all the data. 

Use this method only if you completely get rid of Instagram from your life. 

1. Visit Instagram on the web and sign in using your account. 

2. Go to the dedicated Delete Your Account page and select your reason to delete the account. 

reason for instagram delete

3. Re-enter your password and confirm your decision. 

delete instagram account

After deleting the account, you have up to one month to change your mind. During the 30 days, you can come back to Instagram and log in again and get access back. 

Wrapping Up: Disable Your Instagram Account

Being a responsible social media company, Instagram offers various ways to protect, disable, and even delete your account. Keep the possible outcomes in mind with each option and try to get rid of Instagram addiction from your routine. 

You may also like